Why I don’t like blogging anymore (RANT)

Today is another opinion piece. If you easily get offended, maybe this one isn’t for you – but I thought it would be nice to share our opinions on this topic.

I saw Jana’s blogpost the other day, and eventhough she just lightly touched on the topic, it hit home. The reason I don’t like blogging anymore is quite simple, yet complex at the same time.

I feel like everyone in the blogging/instagram/beauty industry takes themselves so serious. It looks like they think they and their products are the be-all end-all.

For one, nothing is taken lightly anymore. Everyone is offended by everything. Nobody is minding their own business. There is so much drama all over & it just really hit me when I saw an instagrammer claim that “someone was copying a look they created, without crediting them”.
Like WHAT? When did we put a copyright on a make-uplook? And why do people think that they ‘did something first’. It’s make-up. It’s art, yes – but it is experimenting. I am sure SOMEONE around the globe already thought of the thing you put on instagram. The fact that your picture has been posted earlier does not mean you thought of the idea first. Like REALLY.

Blogging has become such a serious thing. You can’t post when you want anymore, you have to be consistent or your blog doesn’t mean anything. Blogging isn’t about being honest and sharing your true opinion, it’s about shallow posts that make every company happy, in hopes of getting free products.

Another thing that bothers me is that in a fact we are pushed diversity, yet we are seeing the same look over and over. Skinny six-packed bikini models, boob jobs, contour craziness, big lips, … I just don’t like it anymore. I get the whole ‘being open about getting work done’ but when I scroll through instagram there is maybe 3 pictures in 12 hours of girls that look somewhat natural still. We are lead to believe that we all have to look that way – because everyone else is looking that way. It just seems like natural make-up isn’t a thing anymore. It is piled on, filtered out and led to believe it’s how we all should look all the time. People are preaching self love and confidence, but when they get to earn the big $$ they go around and get plastic surgery. I’m not affected in the way that I get insecure, I just get annoyed that no one is relatable anymore.

We’re seeing press trips in exotic islands, perfect relationships, perfect bodies, big houses and cars, …

It is all so fake. And I’m tired of it.

My blog will not be consistent – because I am working full time and I just don’t have the time nor energy to be typing and photographing for hours and hours after work.
My blog will not be perfect – because I want it to be a flow of how I’m feeling. And if I want to wait two weeks before putting a post up, because that’s when it feels right, I will.
My blog will not be about pleasing others – because I started it for myself in the first place.

My blog will be a reflection of me. And I’m fine with that.

I’m open for discussion. Leave your opinions on this topic in the comments!

5 thoughts on “Why I don’t like blogging anymore (RANT)”

  1. Amen! Ik kwam op je blog terecht via de retweet van Jana. Ik vind het leuk om te weten dat er toch nog zoveel gelijkgestemden zijn over het hele gedoe. Je kan er zo ver in gaan als je zelf wilt, maar voor mij blijft oprechtheid toch het allerbelangrijkste en dat apprecieer ik enorm bij mijn favoriete blogs.

    Liked by 1 persoon

Share your ideas

