Am I not ambitious enough?

Todays post is going to be something a little bit different than my usual posts. While reading 2WMN’s post on Dreams, I was thinking about something that happened to me a while back.

Ever since I was little I dreamt of being a preschool teacher, being married to my soulmate with some little ones running around in our own house. As you can see, it’s nothing ground-breaking.

However, I had to work hard to make my dream of becoming a preschool teacher come true. As I have touched on in previous posts, I had to do a part of my second year over, which lead me to graduate half a year after everyone else. It wasn’t easy to make it all happen in 6 months & I cried A LOT before deciding to do all my tasks in half a year, because I felt like such a failure for failing that part of my education. Eventually I graduated in February of 2016 and started working immediately at the school where I’m still working now, a full year later.

I completed a full make-upcourse while studying, got a hairdressers degree in my first half year of working, found a place with my fiancé to build our house on & I am planning my wedding while working full time in my own classroom for the first time and still being able to spend time with my friends and family.

img_8776

One day I was talking to someone about their dreams, and they expressed a desire to be succesfull in their field and building a chain of businesses all around the country. “What do you dream about?”

When I answered what my ideal scenario would be: working at least parttime in my classroom, because I love it too much to ever give it up, and doing hair & make-up on the side at home so I could still combine it with future kids, I got the simple reply “That’s it? Don’t go further? Expanding your business to multiple places?”

No. “That’s it”. Obviously ambition is different to every single person. I was kind of offended, like my dream wasn’t big enough. Like I should be dreaming of more than simply being happy with achieving everything I wanted to achieve. Like I shouldn’t call myself ambitious because my dream isn’t big enough.

img_8775

So today I want to tell you, whatever you dream of, make it happen. No matter how ‘big’ or ‘small’ that dream may be. Be ambitious and make it happen, even if it is happening in a 5 mile radius of where you are now.

What’s your take on this?

 

 

Share your ideas

