Review: Lorac Pro Palette

Het Lorac Pro Palette. Het is door velen gehyped en heeft ondertussen ook nog een opvolger gekregen (met de originele naam ‘Lorac Pro 2 Palette’).
Een palette met een variëteit aan kleuren en finishes, is het de hype ook waard?
Lees mijn mening hieronder!

// The Lorac Pro Palette is hyped by many and more recently Lorac added a second Pro Palette to their collection. 
This palette has an array of colours and finishes, but is it worth the hype?
Read all my opinions below!

 Het LORAC Pro Palette is helaas niet te verkrijgen in België. Ik kocht hem tijdens mijn vakantie in Miami in Ulta (een drogisterij) voor $42. Omgerekend is dat zo’n €37.
Unfortunately, the LORAC Pro Palette isn't available in Belgium. I bought it while being on a vacation in Miami. It's sold in Ulta for $42 which is about €37.
Unfortunately, the LORAC Pro Palette isn’t available in Belgium. I bought it while being on a vacation in Miami. It’s sold in Ulta for $42 which is about €37.
Op het kartonnen doosje vind je al heel wat informatie. Hoeveel en welke kleuren in het palette zitten, hoe je ze kan gebruiken en dat er een primer in de doos zit. Dat is altijd meegenomen!
Aan de achterkant zeggen ze je dat je de oogschaduws ook nat kan gebruiken, maar dat vind ik persoonlijk niet fijn om te doen.
The palette comes in a cardboard box which gives you a lot of information. It tells you how much eyeshadows it contains and in which shades, how to use them and that it has an eyeshadow primer included. They also tell you can use the eyeshadows wet, but I don’t really like to do that.
De verpakking voelt aan als rubber, net zoals de NARS-verpakkingen. Dit voelt luxueus aan, maar maakt het wel makkelijk om er vieze vingerafdrukken op na te laten.
Het palette is erg dun en sluit magnetisch, wat het dus erg reisproof maakt.
The packaging feels rubber-y, just like the typical NARS packaging. It feels luxurious, but it's very fingerprint-able (look at me making up my own words ;D). The palette is very thin and sleek, which makes it very travel friendly.
The packaging feels rubber-y, just like the typical NARS packaging. It feels luxurious, but it’s very fingerprint-able (look at me making up my own words ;D). The palette is very thin and sleek, which makes it very travel friendly.

Het palette bevat 16 kleurtjes: de bovenste rij is mat, de onderste rij shimmery.
Er is een grote variatie aan kleuren, van erg zacht, tot mediumneutrale kleuren, maar ook smokey kleuren en zelfs wat leuke tintjes zoals koper, paars en blauw.

Inside there are 16 beautiful colours. The top row is matte, bottom shimmery. Within the eyeshadows there's lot of variation: from soft to medium and smokey colours, neutrale but also some 'real colours' like copper, purple and blue.
Inside there are 16 beautiful colours. The top row is matte, bottom shimmery. Within the eyeshadows there’s lot of variation: from soft to medium and smokey colours, neutrale but also some ‘real colours’ like copper, purple and blue.
De textuur van de oogschaduws wordt vaak omschreven als “boterig” en dit kan ik ergens wel begrijpen. Ze zijn erg zacht en glijden gemakkelijk over je vingers. Dat maakt dat ze soms wel poederig zijn, wanneer je er met je penseel in gaat. Bij enkele kleuren is het oppassen voor fall-out (vooral de donkerpaarse kleur is dangerous).
Alle kleuren zijn wel goed gepigmenteerd.
dljdk
The texture of these shadows is often described as ‘buttery’: they are very soft and feel supersmooth on your fingers. However, the fact that they are so soft makes them very prone to powderyness when dieping your brush in the eyeshadow and with some shades I experience fall-out (especially the dark purple one!). All colours are very pigmented.
Ik postte al veel looks met dit palette op de blog! Je kan ze vinden via door “Lorac Pro Palette” in te typen in de zoekbalk, in de rechterzijbalk.
I already posted a lot of looks on the blog featuring this palette. If you use the search option on the right sight, you can find them. I have used this palette a significant amount of times, yet I don't know if I would repurchase. Not because the eyeshadows are not pigmented, but because they tend to fade during the day (especially the light matte colours).
I already posted a lot of looks on the blog featuring this palette. If you use the search option on the right side, you can find them.
I have used this palette a significant amount of times, yet I don’t know if I would repurchase.
Not because the eyeshadows are not pigmented, but because they tend to fade during the day (especially the light matte colours).
 
Hoewel ik dit palette al erg veel heb gebruikt, weet ik niet of ik het nog eens opnieuw zou kopen, misschien zou ik voor een ander palette gaan. Niet omdat ze niet gepigmenteerd zijn, maar omdat ik vaak merk dat ze erg vervagen doorheen de dag (vooral de matte en meer natuurlijke lichtere kleuren). Ze werken het best op hun eigen primer – die trouwens prima werkt – en minder goed op andere primers, wat ik jammer vind.
Het Naked 3 palette van Urban Decay (dat ik hier reviewde) heeft me meer van m’n sokken geblazen, terwijl ik die op het laatste nippertje meenam en het Pro Palette van Lorac al tijden op mijn wishlist stond. Vreemd hoe het kan lopen met make-up.
20141005-1256386
The colours perform the best on top of their own primer (which works fine), but not that much on other primers, which is a shame. The Naked 3 palette (reviewed here) kind of blew me away and impressed me more than the Pro Palette. Kind of strange seeing as I wanted the Pro one for months and I bought the Naked 3 on a whim. Would you purchase this palette? What are your experiences?
 
 
Zou jij dit palette kopen?
 
6 thoughts on “Review: Lorac Pro Palette”

  1. Mooie looks heb je met het palette gemaakt! Ik had ook al erg veel gehoord over het Lorac Pro Palette, en ik had er hoge verwachtingen van. Nu ik weet dat je het Naked 3 palette beter vond, denk ik toch niet dat ik hem op mijn wishlist ga zetten! 😀

    Like

Share your ideas

